Moving on…

giphy-tumblr.gif

My first year anniversary as a nurse passed two days ago. I spent my first year at a hospital on their intermediate care unit. A step down unit. This August, I begin my education as an NP.

Too soon? Not enough experience as an RN? Maybe. But I started this journey because an MD who has been treating me for Lyme disease asked me to finish my education as an NP and join her primary care practice. Because I didn’t have an RN license at the time, I needed to get that first. So far, she’s been waiting 3 years. And she’ll have two more yeas to wait.

I may not have as much experience as I’d like, or is ideal, but I have a solid foundation. I saw a lot. I did a lot. And it truly is time to leave. Things are getting.. hairy… at the facility.

Nurses are leaving in droves. Sometimes it’s because of better pay at other facilities, sometimes it’s because there has been a change in management that just didnt sit well. The hospital, at this point, is hemorrhaging nurses. The hospital has been in a code red situation more than once (critically low staffing) and nurses are being forced to take more patients than is safe.

There will be a sentinel event. It’s coming. I dont want to be around for when it does. I worked hard to earn my license, I intend to keep it. Because eventually, the people that will pay the ultimate price for this will be the patients, and the nurses.

4 thoughts on “Moving on…

    1. Thank you so much for your words of support.You’d be surprised how other RNs scoff at people like me, young nurses who jump right back into school for a higher nursing degree with only 1 year at the bedside. But this has been the plan all along. I have a job to do, and I never intended to stay a bedside nurse forever. ❤

  1. I was once an LPN so I understand the bitchiness that is inherent in the nursing profession. On the other hand, some of the nurses I met were the kindest people ever. Like you.

Leave a Reply

