That’s not how it works…

d2fdfacbc8e29e0be1620251fa17a39e

Any given day, I fluctuate between a 5-7, which is a vast improvement from what life was like before diagnosis and treatment, when I was 0-3. The response I got when I posted this on FB? “This year’s goal, a 9!”

Um, that’s not how chronic illness works. I’m no longer in treatment, and I’m coming to terms with my own limitations. I appreciate the positive attitude and well wishes, but to tell me that I should be aiming for a 9 perpetuates the idea that I’m not doing enough, not being enough… Just. Not. Enough.

I could go on, but I wont. Not at this time. Besides, I know many others who have faced similar situations and have more eloquently discussed why this pervasive “do more” attitude actually does more to hurt than to help.

Leave a Reply

