I want to do it all…

Ever since I was a kid, I had grand ideas about what I wanted to do “when I grew up.” I wanted to be that “Astronaut-Veterinarian-Doctor” who rode horses and ice skated in my free time. That hasn’t changed much.

For a few years, I had gotten so sick, that I had resigned myself to the fact that I may never get well, never mind pursue any dreams of a career. Dr. C changed that, and in time, I began to get better, and she planted the idea of finishing a medical education as a nurse practitioner into a brain that was finally clearing from the fog that chronic Lyme disease and its co-infections can bring.

So I began down that road, and it’s what continues to drive me: the thought of bringing wellness to others who are also suffering with a disease so few in the medical field are treating with the seriousness it deserves. And here I am farther down that road, and having done an internship with Palliative and Hospice, I found a nursing specialty that speaks to my soul: a specialty that brings dignity and clarity to the chronically ill and dying – a specialty that so few seem to really understand. So I wonder, will I ever get the chance to explore that specialty?

But then, recently, I attended a lecture on emerging viral disease, and it reignited my love for research. I took 6 months off from my undergrad education back in the early 90s to participate in governmental research at a national laboratory, and I was bitten by the lab bug. There is something about finding the answers to questions and performing experiments that tickles the mad scientist in me. So I wonder, will I ever get the chance to be in a lab again? Perhaps doing research on Lyme disease and other tick borne illness?

The truth is, I really want to do it all.

But for now, I will continue in my initial direction, and finish my education as an NP, so as to help patients who suffer like I once did. However, you can bet I will be looking for the opportunity to explore my other interests along the way.

Leave a Reply

