Best. Lecture. EVER.

Note pic

Today, I was invited to attend a lecture being given by one of the doctors treating me for Chronic Lyme disease and co-infections. I have to say, I am so glad I made the 2+ hour trip (with the help of my best friend) to be there, because it was probably the best lecture I have ever attended.

Normally when I get my visits with my doctors, I am scribbling notes as they speak, because I’m hoping that after I get through this part of my education, I was hoping to sit down and make some sense of the treasure trove of information I have within the pages of that journal. Today’s lecture consisted of so much of what I have in that journal, except it was presented in an organized way, and suddenly SO MANY PIECES of the puzzle, the lab work, the herbals, the pharmaceuticals, co-infections…it all just coalesced in my mind. I was able to finally see the big picture.

I was surrounded by students younger than me: some undergrad, some DNP students. Dr. J entertained questions and discussion throughout, and I think that it was wonderful to be able to engage like that. My heart broke momentarily, when one student asked about patients who present with these myriad of symptoms, what would she be expected to do? To whom would she refer these patients to? I wanted so badly to stand up and shout, “It’s up to us! It’s up to the new generation of doctors and NPs to take on the challenge and advocate for these patients! We have to learn from those who have come before us and continue the fight!”

But I didn’t.

Later, I was able to bring it up to Dr J, and the student who had said it, and she commented that she wished I had said it. It’s a moment I won’t forget. I felt so empowered.

This. I am so meant to do this. I still have a long, hard road ahead, but I have to do this.

3 thoughts on “Best. Lecture. EVER.

Leave a Reply

