Worse than Before, but Why?

My last doctor visit was November 10, with Dr J, who changed up my treatment a bit. In addition to all the Lyme meds she is keeping me on, I’ve had the “pleasant” addition of nasal meds administered via a nasal atomizer. I have one med in the morning, and one in the evening, and it’s decidedly the most unsexy thing I have ever come across. I go so far as to lock my bathroom door just so my husband doesn’t walk in to witness these events. Granted, lots of our personal hygiene habits aren’t very high on the “sexy” list, but this just takes the cake.

And what’s worse? I don’t feel any better.

Then she also suggested I stay away from mammal meat, be it beef, pork, lamb, venison, or even goat, and stick to only chicken or fish, because she suspects that I may have an allergy to meat. So no more burgers, no more bacon, no more curried goat and no more middle eastern kofta.

And guess what. I don’t feel any better. In fact I feel worse.

My sinuses, which were only mildly congested when I saw her, are now a constant drippy, sneezy, gotta-mouth-breathe-which-sucks-when-you-sleep kind of mess. I’ve started to depend on antihistamines, but they make me a hung-over, moody bitch the next day. More importantly, however,  is figuring out the source of the new sinus trouble. Is it the addition of the nasal meds, designed to treat a potential mold infection dep within my nasal cavities? Or is it that I’m suddenly consuming FAR more chicken than I ever did since I’ve gone paleo?

So what do I do?

I’m thinking that I need to finish the course of medication per Dr J’s orders. I also think I have to change up my diet again. Part of me would like to go back to eating red meat products and see if the symptoms continue or even lessen, but the more sensible part of me thinks I may have to eliminate all animal products completely and reintroduce them one at a time, slowly, after giving my body a chance to detox from all meat products.

So what’s the problem?

I have exactly ONE book dedicated to vegan paleo eating, and not a whole lot looks very appetizing, or practical. In addition, they include legumes and tofu, and I always thought that legumes and soy products are strictly prohibited along with grains when following paleo.

*big sigh*

I know what I have to do. I just dread doing it.

Leave a Reply

