Best. Words. Ever.

I’m pretty sure that the best words ever strung together are, “It is our pleasure to inform you that the Committee has approved your application.”

I’m in! I finally get to finish the medical education I wanted so bad when I was younger. It hasn’t taken the form that I originally thought it would, as I’ll hopefully be finishing as a Nurse Practitioner, but I’ll be helping patients just as much.

So why this road, considering I earned my Bachelor’s degree back in 1995? Because my LLMD (Lyme Literate Medical Doctor) urged me to finish and “join her practice.”

I’ll never forget that day. It was late October or early November of 2013, and I was in her office discussing various metabolic processes, and she just interrupts me, saying rather decisively, “you need to finish your medical education and come work with me.”

Now, she didn’t say “for me,” she said “with me.” I was bowled over by the mere suggestion that she thought I could be one of her peers. Especially since I had spent the last few years trying to get doctors to understand that I was sick, not depressed and lazy.

I didn’t sleep for 4 nights. I racked my brain trying to figure out if I could make it happen, how long it would it take, how old I might be when I finish. And so at our next appointment, I asked about finishing as a PA, since it would be a quicker route, and I could get to work that much faster. (That, and I was not interested in sitting for the MCAT exam a second time.) Doc C indicated that she strongly suggests I avoid the PA role, as “it would constrain the scope of my practice.” That, and “if she (Doc C) ‘dropped dead,’ the practice couldn’t continue,” since I’d have to move on to work under another physician. And once again, I was bowled over by Doc C’s belief in my ability to really help people, and her desire to have me work with her.

So here I go again. I begin the clinical component of the Nursing program in the Fall, and I have 4 classes that I need to complete before then. I’m not sweating it. Academically, I’ve always been strong. My only reservation is that I may not be fully recovered by the start of Fall classes. Looks like I’m going to have to ask Doc C to pull out the big guns so that I’m ready.

<insert happy dance here>

One thought on “Best. Words. Ever.

Leave a Reply

